About AJLSC Members

AJLSC Members who are AJL Past-Presidents and serve on the AJL Past-Presidents Council

Susan Dubin – AJL President, 2008-2010

Ronda Rose – AJL President, 2004-2006

Barbara Y. Leff – AJL President, 1980-1982

Harvey Horowitz – AJL President, 1978-1980

AJLSC Members who won AJL Awards

AJL Fanny Goldstein Merit Award – named for the librarian, social activist, and founder of National Jewish Book Month, this award is bestowed in recognition of loyal and ongoing contributions to the Association and to the profession of Jewish librarianship.

AJLSC awardees:  Ronda Rose (2010),  Fred Isaac (2008), Ellen G. Cole (2007),  Susan Dubin (2001),  Adaire J. Klein (1994), Barbara Y. Leff(1992).

AJL Life Membership Award – granted in recognition of outstanding leadership and professional contributions to the Association and to the profession of Jewish librarianship.

AJLSC awardees:  Rita C. Frischer (2000), Barbara Y. Leff (1994).

Top of Page

Local AJLSC Libraries awarded AJL Accreditation Certificates

Advanced Level Judaica Library Accreditation:

2012 (renewal) — Corwin Library, Temple Israel of Hollywood, Hollywood, CA — Melissa Sloan, Librarian.

2012 (renewal) — Lainer Library, Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School, Northridge, CA — Cara Sagal, Librarian.

2011 (renewal) — Blumenthal Library, Sinai Temple, Los Angeles, CA — Lisa Silverman, Library Director.

2011 (renewal) — Sheila Sporn Library, ValleyBeth Shalom Synagogue, Encino, CA — Helene Gersuk, Librarian.

2007 — Weber Library, Adat Ari El, Valley Village, CA — Lesley Alexander-Roxas, Day School Librarian; and Grace Friedman, Religious School Librarian.

2004 — Lainer Library, Rabbi Jacob Pressman Academy, Los Angeles, CA — Arna Schwartz, Librarian.


Basic Level Judaica Library Accreditation:

2013 (renewal) — Dr. Eugene B. Levine Memorial Library, Temple Isaiah, Los Angeles, CA — Ellen Cole, Librarian

2011 — Rabbi Harvey B. Franklin Library, Temple Israel, Long Beach, CA — Joan P. Leb, Librarian

2008 — YULA Girls High School, Los Angeles, CA — Rayna Clark, Head Librarian.


AJLSC Members — In Memoriam

Michael Masliah z”l ( – 2016) — AJLSC Liaison to the Los Angeles County Library; Librarian at the Culver City Public Library.

Judy Cohn, z”l (1936-2015) — AJLSC President (2006-2012), Librarian at Granada Hills Charter High School; and Substitute Librarian at Los Angeles Public Library.

Grace Friedman, z”l (1916-2012) — an AJLSC Founding Member; AJLSC President (1971-73); Religious School Librarian at Adat Ari El; President of Friends of Fairfax Branch of Los Angeles Public Library.

Nettie Frishman, z”l (1913-2005) — Los Angeles Public Library; also an AJL Sydney Taylor Award Committee Friend.

Dorothy Schroeder, z”l ( -1987) — a Founder and First President of AJLSC.  (See Dorothy Schroeder Memorial Fund)

Mae Weine, z”l (1912-2004) — an AJL and AJLSC Founder.